April 27, 2012

The Honorable Robert Menendez United States Senate 528 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510-3001

Dear Senator Menendez:

On behalf of the hundreds of thousands of transit workers represented by the undersigned unions, we are writing to thank you for your leadership on MAP-21, the Senate's surface transportation bill.

Due to your efforts, the bill maintains transit funding and rejects the approach in the House-introduced legislation which would eliminate dedicated sources of revenue that systems rely upon to keep vehicles in good repair.

In addition, we cannot thank you enough for refusing to include provisions advanced by foreign companies engaged in public transportation that would strongly encourage local transit systems to contract-out a large percentage of their fixed route bus service. This ill-advised approach would reverse four decades of federal neutrality on privatization, reduce the standard of living for workers and diminish the transportation service provided to communities.

Moreover, by including language that allows transit systems the flexibility to use a portion of their federal funds for operating assistance, you have given us hope that cities can put an end to the deep service cuts, steep fare hikes, and cruel layoffs that more than 85% of U.S. transit systems have been forced to put in place since the beginning of the recession.

Finally, the innovative safety and workforce development programs created under this bill will go a long way toward our most important role: providing Americans with dependable, convenient, and affordable public transportation.

We look forward to working with you in your capacity on the conference committee to ensure that these critical provisions are included in the final bill.

Once again, thank you for your support of working families.

Sincerely,

General W. mertie

Gerald W. McEntee President American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

times P. Dogga

James P. Hoffa General President International Brotherhood of Teamsters

Condilla

Robert A. Scardelletti National President Transportation Communication International Union

James C. Little International President Transport Workers Union of America

aurene H

Lawrence J. Hanley International President Amalgamated Transit Union

The that

John R. Thacker Conference President National Conference of Firemen and Oilers, SEIU

Edward Wytkind President Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO

M.B. Fathey: p.

Mike Futhey International President United Transportation Union